Emerging Physician Leader Award

  • US & Canada

The Emerging Physician Leader Award recognizes a medical student, resident, or fellow who has demonstrated a passion for sustainable health care or a commitment to environmental leadership. The award was established and supported by the Health Care Without Harm Physician Network in 2019. Honorees received scholarships to attend CleanMed, the premier conference for leaders in health care sustainability.

The inaugural recipients are Drs. Hilary Ong and Emily Sbiroli.

Dr. Hilary Ong, a pediatric emergency medicine fellow at Children’s National Medical Center, was selected for her commitment to protect children from environmental health threats, including air pollution and climate change.

“It is a tremendous honor to receive this award,” Ong said. “I am grateful for the recognition I have received for my work in pediatric environmental health, and I will continue to raise awareness about the impacts of climate change on children’s health. I’m excited for the opportunity to attend CleanMed to expand my knowledge of environmental sustainability and network with leaders in the field.”

Dr. Emily Sbiroli, a resident physician at UC San Diego Health Department of Emergency Medicine, was selected for her enthusiasm for climate-smart health care and vision for a sustainable future.

“After many years of balancing my passion for environmental sustainability with my commitment to medicine, I am so incredibly honored and grateful to have finally found a community of leaders and innovators who share the same goal of making sustainable health care a reality,” Sbiroli said. “This award is a daily, humbling reminder of the inspiring people I have met at CleanMed and the journey we have in front of us.”