The Blair and Georgia Sadler Fellowship at Health Care Without Harm

Thanks to a generous gift from Blair and Georgia Sadler, Health Care Without Harm established the annual Blair and Georgia Sadler Fellowship in 2022, providing an opportunity for emerging clinical health leaders who want to work on equitable, climate-smart health care in their institutions and communities.

Each year, Health Care Without Harm will select an annual cohort of early-career clinicians for this fellowship and connect them with each other, internal and external subject matter experts, and our partner health systems to support their ideas and growth. The Blair and Georgia Sadler Fellowship participants will be equipped with tools for climate and sustainability-related education, organizing, communications, research, and leadership that they can put to use throughout their careers.

Fellows receive a full scholarship to attend CleanMed and a $1,000 grant to complete a project that aims to demonstrate scalable solutions that can be shared with our health care network, broader academic circles, and the general public.

Fellows will have an advisory group at Health Care Without Harm and Practice Greenhealth for mentorship during the fellowship year, and will be supported in writing an article or op-ed for local press or a media site about the need for health care to focus on climate, health, and equity. In addition, fellows will be encouraged to submit articles for publication in select journals and present work at conferences. Upon completion, these leaders will join a cohort of past fellows.

“The next generation of clinical health professionals want to be prepared to care for patients in a changing climate, from gaining an understanding of how climate change impacts health, to acquiring knowledge about opportunities to reduce health care’s climate impact, and learning how to prepare for disruptions in patient care due to extreme weather events. The Sadler Fellowship is an exciting opportunity to support and mentor the next generation of clinical sustainability leaders and provide them with the tools and knowledge to advocate for more sustainable and equitable health care.”

⁠— Amy Collins, Medical Director of Physician Engagement and Education, Health Care Without Harm

Applications for the 2024 award are closed. Congratulations to our winners.

Please support the next generation of health care sustainability leaders by making a donation to the Climate action fund for health professionals. 

Celebrating award recipients

2024 award recipients

2024 Saddler award recipients_thumbnails (481 x 120 px)

Douglas Fritz, Dr. Emaline Laney, Dr. Jamaji Nwanaji-Enwerem, Kali Smolen

Read more about our 2024 recipients

2023 award recipients

Dr. Divyansh Agarwal, Channing Hou, Dr. Dalia Larios, Hayley Petit

Read more about our 2023 recipients

2022 award recipients

Priya Dave, Dr. Jacquelyn Piraquive, Dr. Peter Trinh, Carter White

Read more about our 2022 recipients