Emerging Physician Leader Award and Scholarship

Recognizing promising physician leadership for a sustainable future

About the award and scholarship

The Emerging Physician Leader Award and Scholarship was established in 2018 by the Health Care Without Harm Physician Network, recognizing the importance of mentoring and supporting the next generation of physician sustainability champions.

The award recognizes a medical student, resident, or fellow who has demonstrated a passion for sustainable health care or a commitment to climate and health leadership.

Please support the next generation of health care sustainability leaders by making a donation to the Climate action fund for health professionals.

Thanks to our generous donors, we have awarded many scholarships since 2019.

Opportunities for medical students, residents, or fellows

Award recipients will receive:

  • Free registration to CleanMed Salt Lake City from May 21-23
  • Up to three nights in the CleanMed Salt Lake City conference hotel
  • A travel stipend for transportation to and from the conference
  • A $1,000 grant to support a project that aligns with the goals of the Health Care Without Harm Physician Network to support physician and medical student action to reduce the environmental impact of health delivery and promote climate-smart health care through mitigation, resilience, and leadership

This year the award is offered by Health Care Without Harm in collaboration with the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Applications for the 2024 award are open. Apply by Jan. 29, 11:59 PT.

Celebrating award recipients

2023 award recipients

Dr. Tina Bharani, Taylor Diedrich, Dr. Gwyneth Sullivan, Emily Yamron

Read more about our 2023 recipients

2022 award recipients

Dr. Laura Donahue, Karly Hampshire, Stella Protopapas, Margaret Tharp, Dr. Katherine Velicki, Priya Dave (Blair and Georgia Sadler Fellow), Dr. Jacquelyn Piraquive (Blair and Georgia Sadler Fellow), Dr. Peter Trinh (Blair and Georgia Sadler Fellow), Carter White (Blair and Georgia Sadler Fellow)

Read more about our 2022 recipients

2021 award recipients

Raj FadaduDr. Ryan HallCasey PatnodeMiranda Ricart

Raj Fadadu, Dr. Ryan Hall, Casey Patnode, Miranda Ricart

Read more about our 2021 recipients

2020 recipients

Harleen Marwah

Harleen Marwah, Dr. Julia Schoen, Dr. Hari Shankar, Natasha Sood 

Read more about our 2020 recipients

2019 recipients

Dr. Hilary Ong & Dr. Emily Sbiroli

Read more about our 2019 recipients